Skip to main content
Version: DPX 4.10

Adding a Key

Each key in a keyring is assigned to a period when it is applicable for backup and migrate jobs. At any time, only one key in a keyring is applicable. The other keys in a keyring, although retired, may still be needed for restore and migrate jobs.

To add a key to a keyring, follow the procedure below.

  1. Open the Enterprise Information view by clicking the gear icon [x] in the header.
  2. Go to the Keyrings tab.
    The tab lists all keyrings created by the DPX administrator.
[image expected here]
  1. Hover over the keyring and click the edit icon [x].
    The Edit Keyring dialog window will open.
[image expected here]
  1. Click Add new key.
    A new key will be added to the keyring.
[image expected here]
Note.

The previous key in the keyring is automatically retired. However, it still can be used to access backups encrypted using the key.

Removing a Key​

Important.

Generally, removing keys or keyrings from DPX is not recommended, as removing the key will make it impossible to restore data from backups created using the removed key.

  1. To remove a key, hover over the keyring and click the edit icon [x].
    The Edit Keyring dialog window will open.
[image expected here]
  1. Click the[x]icon. You will be prompted to confirm your choice.
[image expected here]
  1. Type the key ID to confirm, then click Remove.
    The key will be permanently removed from the keyring.
Warning!

All backups made using the removed key will become inaccessible.

Removing a Keyring​

Note.

Only empty keyrings can be removed. To remove a keyring that contains keys, remove all the keys first.

To remove an empty keyring, hover over the keyring and click the[x]icon.

[image expected here]

You will be prompted to confirm your choice.

[image expected here]

Click Yes. The empty keyring will be deleted from the list.